Participants

What is CARTaGENE?

CARTaGENE is a research platform of the CHU Sainte-Justine aiming to accelerate health research. CARTaGENE consists of a biobank (repository of biological samples) and a health database.

What is a biobank?

A biobank is an organized set of biological samples stored in a systematic manner  to be used for research projects. The CARTaGENE Biobank is kept within the Génome Québec Biobank facility in Saguenay.

How is CARTaGENE helping research?

The CARTaGENE Database and Biobank are unparalleled research resources of great scientific value. Detailed information on health, lifestyle and exposure to environmental risk factors can be used in combination with a wealth of information obtained from banked biological samples, including genome sequencing to better understand health and disease.

Who can participate in CARTaGENE?

The recruitment is now completed and it is not possible to volunteer at this time. Individuals invited to participate in CARTaGENE were randomly selected to be representative of the Quebec population aged 40 to 69 years.

How can I make a complaint?

Any complaints about CARTaGENE can be addressed to the Commissaire aux plaintes CHU Sainte-Justine by phone 514 345-4749 or by mail to:

Commissaire aux plaintes et à la qualité des services
CHU Sainte-Justine, pièce A111 et 1209
3175, Côte-Sainte-Catherine
Montréal (Québec) H3T 1C5.

How to withdraw from CARTaGENE?

Participants are entirely free to participate or not in CARTaGENE and to withdraw at any time. Participants may at any time request that their name be removed from the list of registered participants on the portal. This will not cause the destruction of data and biological samples collected by CARTaGENE. To withdraw, participants have to communicate with the Unité CaG-CHUSJ at 1-877-263-2360 (toll-free).

Participants can also request the destruction of their data and biological samples. Data and biosamples will not be destroyed after a participant’s death, unless clear instructions to this effect are mentioned in a will.

Who can access the data?

CARTaGENE is designed to prevent data access by insurers and employers. Only researchers who received scientific and ethical approvals can have access to data.

Participants’ data are protected by codes which ensure confidentiality. CARTaGENE has mechanisms and robust IT security architecture compliant with international norms and standards on the best information security practices. Samples in the biobank are protected against unauthorized use by mechanic and electronic systems. In addition, all Génome Québec Biobank and CARTaGENE employees have signed confidentiality agreements.

Researchers

What is CARTaGENE?

CARTaGENE is a research platform of the CHU Sainte-Justine specially designed to facilitate the emergence of new research projects and new health care knowledge. CARTaGENE consists of a biobank and a health database.

What type of data is available?

CARTaGENE has various features that researchers can consult to learn more about the available data. These are the data catalog and aggregate data.

How can I request access to the data?

To apply for access to CARTaGENE data and/or biosamples, please go to the SDAS portal and follow the instructions. You will need to register to create an account before you can complete the application form. Please note that a proof of research ethics committee approval, research protocol, proof of funding and a short CV will be requested as part of the application package.

Who can apply for access?

CARTaGENE is a public research platform and any researcher working in a public institution (academic or governmental) or in a private organisation may apply for access to data and biosamples. Use of the CARTaGENE data and/or biosamples is NOT restricted to Canadian researchers.

Which projects have used CARTaGENE data and/or biosamples?

Please consult our project list to obtain more information about studies using CARTaGENE data and/or biosamples.

Participants

Qu'est-ce que CARTaGENE?

CARTaGENE est une plateforme de recherche du CHU Sainte-Justine visant à accélérer les recherches sur la santé. CARTaGENE est constituée d’une biobanque (banque d’échantillons biologiques) et d’une banque de données sur la santé.
 

Qu'est-ce qu'une biobanque?

C’est un ensemble d’échantillons biologiques stockés et organisés de façon systématique afin d’être utilisés pour des projets de recherche. La biobanque de CARTaGENE est conservée dans les installations de la Biobanque Génome Québec à Saguenay.

Comment CARTaGENE contribue-t-il à l'avancement des connaissances en santé?

Les banques de données et d’échantillons biologiques de CARTaGENE sont des ressources de recherche sans pareil et d’une grande valeur scientifique. Les chercheurs utilisent les données provenant des participants de CARTaGENE en lien avec la génétique, les habitudes de vie ou l’environnement afin de mieux comprendre la santé et les maladies.

Qui peut participer à CARTaGENE?

Le recrutement de CARTaGENE est maintenant terminé. Il n’est pas possible de se porter volontaire pour le moment. Les individus qui ont été invités à participer au projet CARTaGENE ont été sélectionnés au hasard de manière représentative de la population québécoise parmi les 40 à 69 ans.

Comment formuler une plainte?

Toute plainte concernant  CARTaGENE peut être adressée au Commissaire aux plaintes du CHU Sainte-Justine au numéro de téléphone 514 345-4749 ou par courrier à l’adresse :

Commissaire aux plaintes et à la qualité des services
CHU Sainte-Justine, pièce A111 et 1209
3175, Côte-Sainte-Catherine
Montréal (Québec) H3T 1C5.
 

Comment mentionner à CARTaGENE le souhait de ne plus participer?

Les participants sont entièrement libres de participer ou non à CARTaGENE. Les participants peuvent en tout temps demander à ce que leur nom soit retiré de la liste d’inscrits sur le portail participants. Pour cela, il suffit de communiquer, sans frais, avec l’Unité CaG-CHUSJ au : 1-877-263-2360.
Les participants peuvent également, en tout temps, demander la destruction des données et des échantillons biologiques recueillis par CARTaGENE. Le décès d’un participant n’entraîne pas son retrait de CARTaGENE à moins d’instructions claires à cet effet dans son testament.

 

Qui a accès aux données?

CARTaGENE est conçue de façon à ne pas permettre l’accès aux données par les assureurs et employeurs. Seulement les chercheurs ayant reçu les approbations scientifiques et éthiques peuvent avoir accès aux données.

De plus, les données des participants sont protégées par des codes afin d’assurer leur confidentialité. CARTaGENE possède des mécanismes et une architecture de sécurité informatique robuste, qui respectent les normes et standards internationaux sur les meilleures pratiques de sécurité informatique. De même, les échantillons se trouvant dans la biobanque seront protégés par des systèmes mécaniques et électroniques contre les utilisations non autorisées. Les employés de CARTaGENE et de la biobanque ont signé des engagements de confidentialité.

Chercheurs

Qu'est-ce que CARTaGENE?

CARTaGENE est une plateforme de recherche du CHU Sainte-Justine spécialement conçue pour faciliter l'émergence de nouveaux projets de recherche et de nouvelles connaissances en matière de soins de santé. CARTaGENE est constituée d’une biobanque et d’une banque de données sur la santé.

Quelles sont les données disponibles à CARTaGENE?

CARTaGENE dispose de différentes ressources que les chercheurs peuvent consultées afin de connaître les données disponibles comme le catalogue des données et les données agrégées.

Comment puis-je faire une demande d'accès?

Pour faire une demande d’accès, il suffit de se rendre sur le portail d’accès SDAS et de suivre les instructions. Vous aurez besoin d’avoir en main l’approbation éthique de votre projet, votre protocole de recherche, une preuve d’octroi de fonds et un court CV.

Qui peut faire une demande d'accès?

CARTaGENE est une plateforme de recherche publique et tout chercheur travaillant dans un organisme public ou privé au niveau national ou international peut demander l'accès aux données et échantillons.

Quels projets ont eu accès aux données et échantillons de CARTaGENE?

Pour la liste complète des projets ayant utilisés les données et échantillons de CARTaGENE, veuillez consulter notre liste.